Classification of Cotton Fiber

Classification of cotton fibre on the basis of staple length: According to the staple length, there are three types of cotton fibre as below-

1. Short staple length
Length = 3/8 inch to 1 inch;
Coarse, low strength and no or little lustre;
Diameter = 13-22 micron;
Example = Indian and Asiatic cotton.
2. Medium staple length
Length = 0.5 inch to 1.25 inch;
Medium strength and medium lustre;
Diameter = 12-17 micron;
Example = American cotton.
3. Long staple length
Length = 1.0 inch to 2.5 inch;
Fine lustre and top quality fibre;
Diameter = 10-12 micron;
Example = Sea Island cotton and Egyptian cotton.

Leave a Comment